My Attempt at a “Happiness Project”

In other news, I’ve finally finished the book “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. I thought that perhaps I can start my own project. A little hokey, maybe. But crying nearly every day over a job that makes me miserable isn’t a good way to live. Any little bit of extra happy would help.

So the first thing I thought I would do is to try to limit the amount of time I spend on Facebook. I have read an article recently that discussed how the lack of real face-to-face social interaction has made society less happy. I also read that people tend to be less happy after reading status updates and seeing happy photos of those in their friend list, who seemingly have perfect happy lives.

So I decided to deactivate my account and to see how long I could go without Facebook. Day one (Thursday) was easy. This is cake, I thought to myself. Friday came around, work was done and things were quiet. I was wondering how friends and family and “Facebook friends” were doing. I also noticed that many of my iPhone apps used Facebook to log into them. I found myself fighting the urge to get back on the social networking site. But within hours, I caved. Yes, ladies and gentlemen. I was only able to stay off Facebook for a grand total of 24 hours.

That is not to say that the one-day break didn’t help my mood. I actually felt a little more at peace and like a weight was lifted. It was nice to take a break and “disappear” for a while. My mom, who is a bit of a Facebook addict, texted me the morning after my Facebook disappearance and asked if I quit…she was actually worried about me for doing that. It was cute.

Anyway, something else I decided to try is to listen to  my iPod in the morning on my way to work. I notice that I’m in a much better mood when I walk into the office with my earbuds in and my music playing. Triple better with a cup of Genmaicha tea in my hand from Coffee Bean. There is something psychological that takes place for me when I purchase a tea or coffee from a Starbucks or Coffee Bean, rather than use the free supply at work. Not good for my pocket-book. But if it makes my morning a little bit happier for a while, I think I will have to partake.

I’ve vowed to try to be better about getting daily exercise. I do try to go to the gym or take a brisk walk around the park most days, but there are days when I just want to come home and be lazy. Especially when I am upset about my career and the lack of direction I feel in that aspect of my life.

In the meantime, I’m going to continue to add to my Happiness Project activities list. All activities, big and small that may have a positive affect on my attitude will be given a chance.

Any readers out there? If so, are there things that you do every day to try to stay positive and happy?

Leave a Reply

